How to install Hathway Router on TPLink 740N wifi router

Hello all,

I have bought a new TP Link Router considering the availabiltiy of  5 Dbi antenna for covering all of my premises. Though it failed, but I got experience of TP Link 740N router configuration with Hathway configuration.

There are two ways of installing the router

  1. by running the CD provided with it
  2. by running configuration by logging to the config page present at http://192.168.1.1/

By running the CD provided with it.

  • Simply connect the WAN cable hathway output LAN cable  to the WAN port blue port of the router and your computer lan at LAN 01 port first yellow port.
  • Run the wizard by inserting the CD in the computer.
  • Provide information as it asks  and Bingo your wifi router is configured to be used.
  • But you will require 45 mins for the configuration automatically.

By going to http://192.168.1.1/

  • Disconnect your PC from all wifi and Lan network
  • Power on your Wifi router.
  • Insert lan cable one end in lan 1 of the router and second end in computer lan cable.
  • open an browser on the computer.
  • Goto http://192.168.1.1/
  • the default login user name is admin and default password is admin.
  • Select Dynamic IP internet connection.
  • Insert the DNS address as 125.99.61.254 and secondary DNS address as 8.8.8.8 google dns server for faster internet service.
  • Clone the MAC address, else you may have to submit the MAC id of your wifi router to Hathway personnel for allowing that Mac ID on their network.
  • Initiate the WPA2 security and set a strong password.
  • Bingo your network of TL WR 740NL will start along with Hathway internet.
  • You will configure your new router in under 10 minutes.

If you have any problem in configuring the said router, please feel free to contact me.

Regards,

hemant@mockme.in

About

I am simple guy with always on lookout for more information and its applications and implication in our day to day life.

Posted in Linux
11 comments on “How to install Hathway Router on TPLink 740N wifi router
  1. jalispran says:

    Hi, thanks for the help.
    I followed the instructions and it worked likea charm. Although, i am facing a minor problem.
    I can not login to my hathway account via any of the mobile devices. So i have to start my PC every 8 to 10 hrs, login and shutdown so that i can use my internet wirelessly.

    • hvks says:

      No it does not seems ideal for turning on the PC.

      You have not cloned the MAC address of the PC to router. Hence you are required to start the PC.

      Once you have cloned it, you will be able to login into hathway through anydevice.

  2. jalispran says:

    Hi,
    Thanks for the walkthrough. It worked like a charm.
    However, i have a minor problem. I can not login to my hathway account via any of the mobile devices. So i have to turn on my PC, login and shut it down every 8 to 10 hours in order to use my internet wirelessly. Of you can help me solve this issue, it would be a great help.
    Thakns.
    P.S.: i have to login to my hathway account to use the internet.

  3. praveen says:

    Sir please help me. I’m using in Tikona bordband connection.. but I have router in hathway router ..hhow to configure in this hathway router. .Please tell me .reply to my mail id

  4. peter says:

    I am having intex w316r wifi router cant configure pls help me

  5. mi10 says:

    Hi I tried changing the DNS to the ones mentioned ,still not getting any connectivity
    Do the mac add of wan,lan,wireless have to be the same?
    When I go through the web setup it doesn’t configure DNS automatically?
    Am I missing something?
    Thanks

  6. ank says:

    I have a hathway connection and they provided a router which takes a coaxial cable as input and that router has LAN port. I also have a spare TP-Link WD8970 router and wish to make it as an access point. The above steps didnt work for me.
    Could you please help ?

    • hvks says:

      You are trying to use an ADSL router as main router using lan as an input, which is a difficult to resolve issue. You can convert TP-Link WD8970 into a wireless access point by configuring it as a repeater.

Leave a comment